Conservation Award

The Delaware Audubon Conservation Award
2015 - Newark Residents Against the Power Plant

Photo: The award was presented to NRAPP Steering Committee members (left to right)
Nick Wasilewski, Amy Roe, Nancy Willing, Jen Wallace, and Ron Walker.

Delaware Audubon honored Newark Residents Against the Power Plant (NRAPP) for their successful, grassroots effort against a proposed power plant on the University of Delaware's STAR campus.

The annual Conservation Award was presented to representatives of NRAPP at our annual Happy Heron Hour gala at Timothy's Restaurant in Newark on December 9, 2015. The award was presented to the NRAPP Steering Committee, which consisted of: Chairperson Jen Wallace, Rebecca Arenson, Rob Gifford, Mike Griffin, Laura Henderson, Jamie Magee, Rebecca Faye Powers, Amy Roe, Ron Walker, Nick Wasileski, Nancy Willing, and Pat Wisniewski.

A planned data center threatened to bring a massive 279 megawatt gas power plant to this quiet residential area of Newark. In 2014, a fight against the power plant began with a groundswell of grassroots support from area residents, as well as university staff and students. The university ultimately canceled the project.

Delaware Audubon honored NRAPP for outstanding leadership and effective grassroots organization - which was the major factor contributing to the power plant's defeat.

For a complete list of previous Conservation Award recipients, click here.